Just One Task

I love multitasking but not always.

As a programmer, I find myself multitasking most of the time but there are moments when I just need to buckle down and focus on ticking off one task from my to-do list. I call this my “zen mode”.

Our modern world fills us with so many distractions, each wanting a chunk of our attention. We have social media, phone calls, text messages, post it notes, and so on. No wonder we feel so tired and unproductive most of the time. If you’re part of the general public then I’m sure you know exactly what I’m talking about.

You know… that feeling of uselessness…

I hate that, really. I hate that feeling of being so tired juggling 101 things in my mind trying to solve problems only to find more problems around the corner. Worse, I end up my day checking what I have accomplished and find that I HAVE NOT ACCOMPLISHED ANYTHING.

Oh I really hate that.

Enter “zen mode”. When I switch to zen mode, I shut the world out and focus on just one thing – whether it’s big or small – and pour all my energy into getting it off my to-do list for good. When I’m in zen mode, I ignore all phone calls, text messages, social media notifications and a million other things. I do this by turning off all unnecessary gadgets and notifications and politely asking my family and co-workers not to disturb me.

The result? I get to finish something and at the end of the day I feel like I’m the most productive person in the world.

If you’re like most people then you need to teach yourself to go into zen mode from time to time. Otherwise, you won’t get anything done or if ever you get something done, it’s probably going to be half-baked and you’ll have to revisit it again.

[tweetthis twitter_handles=”@mikelopez”]One thing done is better than nothing done.[/tweetthis]

 

Leave a Reply

