Learning to Let Go

I just recently learned that letting go is not only for the heartbroken. It’s also for businessmen! If you want to expand your business to the point where you can just enjoy life and not have to worry about everything then you need to learn how to let go.

I am a small business owner myself and if you’re like me then I think you’d agree that we tend to handle everything by ourselves. After all it’s been said that if you want something done right, then do it yourself. That is true but it doesn’t mean it’s the best way to handle your business.

My first attempt in business was a small computer shop where I’d accept typing jobs, printing jobs, business card design and a few others related to it. I went in early in the morning, opened the shop, cleaned it up a bit, and waited for customers. I was so good with what I do that people started to like me and so I had more customers pouring in. Soon, I didn’t have enough energy and time to handle the workload and it burned me out.

Sounds familiar?

Well, a lot of us make this mistake – wanting to do everything ourselves. Fact is WE JUST CAN’T!

So we need to learn how to let go. We need to accept that we need help and that the person to help us might not be able to do the job as good as we do. Either they’re less efficient than us, or more efficient. Either way it’s a win-win scenario.

Yes, hiring someone who ends up being more efficient than you is great but how can someone who’s less efficient still provide you with a win-win situation? Simple, having somebody else help us gives us more time to focus on the more important things of our business like, in my case, dealing with customer relation instead of just doing the typing.

You see, there’s a reason why all the big successful companies are corporations. Two heads are better than one – you know that. To that I’d even more heads are better than two.

So learn to let go of perfection and get help. Perfection is great but what’s so perfect about it if it bogs you down?

3 thoughts on “Learning to Let Go

  1. jocelyn says:

    Yes, I read that also from Rich Dad, Poor Dad…”a reason why all the big successful companies are corporations. Two heads are better than one – you know that. To that I’d even more heads are better than two.”..for lower tax also.

  2. Mike Lopez says:

    Hi Jocelyn! Yes, Rich Dad, Poor Dad is a very good read.

  3. I’m also the type of person who’d like to do everything by herself. As you’ve already noticed, sometimes it’s better to just find someone who can do the job while you manage the entire business and stop wasting time with menial jobs. I’ve started delegating some of my tasks and was able to focus on earning more money by doing the things that get me better payments.

Leave a Reply

